September 1944

On Wednesday August 23rd, 1944 Flight Sergeant Stanley Hall arrives in Bombay after his stay at a transient camp in Karachi.

train route

Friday 25th August, 1944

I arrived in Bombay at about 1.30am Wednesday and as usual no one seemed to know about our arrival and after an hour or so transport came for us, then when reached the camp which is in one of the suburbs they didn’t know where to put us but finally found temporary lodgings.

This camp is quite an improvement on the previous one and although I haven’t yet been, can easily get to the city. Not far from my billet there are quite a number of small shops with some very nice clothes, chocs and various requirements such as towels, sheets, gloves and fancy work. I could spend £100 in no time – if I had it!! I hope to go to have a look in town soon.

There should be some mail in a few days, six weeks has been a long time without it. I went to the pictures on the camp last night and saw “Honeymoon in Bali”, quite a comedy.

Friday 1st September, 1944

Made up a parcel to send home; a handbag for Mavis, a wallet for Ray, blouse for Thelma and dress for Robin plus a few odds and ends; lace, hair clips, nets. elastic. So I will post it on Monday. To send a parcel I have to apply through Govt export control, get a permit and hand it into the P.O. I have a cold at present; it doesn’t take much exertion to start up perspiration during the monsoon weather which is so muggy. The low cloud blots the sun and all we get is rain and hot and cold breezes.

I am expecting to go on a “jungle course” soon. It is so that we will have jungle experience if forced down and it should make a couple of interesting weeks.

I’ve still to pick up two gunners, a wireless op/gunner, a bomb aimer and a second pilot so will have eleven in my crew very soon.

September 9th, 1944

Getting all packed up ready to be posted on a short jungle course. I have recently received a marvellous lot of mail and have been very busy now. Yesterday I made my crew up to Liberator strength and now there are eleven of us. Sent a cable for Thelma’s birthday a couple of days ago.

Last night I bought two plates. They are metal chrome finish and have beautiful working on them and the colouring is done with the powder of jewels. It is made into a paint and makes a very effective finish. I shall keep them in my tin trunk to bring home when I come.

Hope to get a pair of nice vases next pay.

September 10th, 1944
Poona India

Arrived at Poona at about 5 this morning and boarded trucks for an 80ml road journey to the Jungle School.

At first the road was quite good but we soon came to a dusty one and upon arrival we all looked like chimney sweeps.

Bathtime jungle school 300dpi

This place was at one time the Governor’s summer residence and the surroundings are quite beautiful.

It is built on top a jungle covered hill with paths and roadways going out in all directions. Being high up (4.000 ft) the air is lovely and cool.

September 12th, 1944

Today we began lectures which included an interesting talk on India by an Indian Air Force Officer. We have to learn what they call “easy” Burmese and have an exam at the end of the course.

The Cachin tribesmen from N. Burma instruct us in the making of snares for catching birds and all the uses of bamboo.

Nearly everyone has a rubber catapult and it is amazing the accuracy that can be obtained with the use of it.

September 14th, 1944

Yesterday we learned how to make cooking utensils from bamboo and today we finished up one of our tramping exercises by cooking our dinner with the things we made.

September 23rd, 1944

Have finished our course up here and had the exams. I came =20th out of 120 with 76% = average with written and above average on practical.
Tonight there is a dinner to celebrate the course. I managed the Burmese language alright and got 90% in it.

W S Hall 1331 CU

September 25th, 1944

Yesterday we arrived back in Poona and are now at a unit awaiting posting to H.C.U. In the meantime 2 weeks I will do a refresher and study up the Lib. [B-24 Liberator]

Poona is one of those well famed military places the sort of thing if one hasn’t been to Poona one hasn’t been to India. I haven’t had a look around yet but it’s a nice locality.

September 29th, 1944

Still on Liberator lectures. Now they have started messing up our crews.

First of all they gave me a 2nd pilot in place of my engineer and now the pilot is posted and they will probably take one wireless op. so still have to wait until I can get new ones.

Next time October 1944…


Note

Flight Sergeant Hall will never fly a Liberator. The proof is on this log book page.

Stanley Hall logbook back page.jpg

 

Leave a comment